About the Trust

The Trust Deed dates from 4th July 1964. The Trust is a registered charity (number 234715) and is responsible for the Kennedy Memorial Fund. It has a Board of up to eleven Trustees, many of whom are involved in the Scholarship selection process:

We remember with gratitude Professor Roderick MacFarquhar, who died on Sunday February 10th.  Rod was the Leroy B. Williams Professor of History and Political Science at Harvard University and formerly Director Fairbank Center for East Asian Research.  He also had considerable journalistic and political experience in the UK. Between 2000 and 2010, Rod brought the precision of his scholarship, his wit and charm to the Kennedy Memorial Trust as the Harvard trustee on the Board. 

The Chair of Trustees

Professor Sir Mark Walport FRS FMedSci
Sir Mark Walport is Chief Executive of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI).  Before this, he was Government Chief Scientific Adviser and Head of the Government Office for Science from April 2013. He was previously Director of the Wellcome Trust and, before that, Professor of Medicine and Head of the Division of Medicine at Imperial College London. Sir Mark succeeded Professor Tony Badger as Chair in July 2016.

The Trustees

Matt Clifford MBE
A former Kennedy Scholar, Matt is Chief Executive of EntrepreneurFirst.

Dr Peter Englander
A former Kennedy Scholar, Peter Englander took his first degree at Manchester University. Peter works at Apax Partners and is CEO of the Apax Foundation.

Stephanie Flanders
A former Kennedy Scholar, Stephanie is Senior Executive Editor at Bloomberg and head of Bloomberg Economics.

Professor Fiona Macpherson
A former Kennedy Scholar, Fiona is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Glasgow.

Mary Ann Sieghart
Chair of the Social Market Foundation and with wide experience as a journalist

Moira Wallace OBE
A former Kennedy Scholar, Moira was Provost of Oriel College, Oxford, following a Civil Service career in HM Treasury, No 10, Home Office, and as Permanent Secretary of the Department of Energy and Climate Change. She is a Visiting Professor at the LSE Centre for the Analysis of Social Exclusion, and a Trustee of Nesta.

Prof Martin Weale CBE
Martin is Professor of Economics at King's College, London.  He has previous experience as a member of the Monetary Policy Committee.

The Ambassador of the United States of America
(Representing the President of the USA).

Professor Anthony Saich (Representing Harvard)
Director of the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Daewoo Professor of International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School.

Professor Andrew Whittle
A former Kennedy Scholar, Andrew Whittle is the Edmund K Turner Professor in Civil Engineering at MIT.


The Lord Mayor of London.

The Governor of the Bank of England.


Annie Thomas
The Kennedy Trust Office and the Scholarship programme are administered by the Secretary, Annie Thomas. If you phone the Trust office for help or information, she will be the person you speak to.

Scholar Profiles
Camilla Cavendish, 1989
"I had wanted to broaden my horizons, but I had never imagined just how limited those horizons were..."
Camilla Cavendish, 1989