To comply with new EU laws regarding "cookies", we have updated our Terms and Conditions and provided a detailed description of how cookies work and are used on this website.  By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to those updated Terms and Conditions.
This notice should appear only the first time you visit the site.
Shaheed Fatima, 1999
"My year as a Kennedy Scholar at HLS was one of the best years of my academic life."
Shaheed Fatima, 1999

About the Trust

The Trust Deed dates from 4th July 1964. The Trust is a registered charity (number 234715) and is responsible for the Kennedy Memorial Fund. It has a Board of up to eleven Trustees, many of whom are involved in the Scholarship selection process:

The Chair of Trustees

Professor Tony Badger
Professor Tony Badger has recently retired as Paul Mellon Professor of American History at Cambridge University and Master of Clare College.

The Trustees

Daniel Alexander QC
A former Kennedy Scholar, Daniel Alexander is a barrister at 8 New Square and specialises in intellectual property law.

Dr Peter Englander
A former Kennedy Scholar, Peter Englander took his first degree at Manchester University. Peter works at Apax Partners and is CEO of the Apax Foundation.

Stephanie Flanders
A former Kennedy Scholar, Stephanie is Chief Market Strategist for the UK & Europe, JP Morgan Asset Management.

Johnny Grimond
Contributing Editor, The Economist

Professor Fiona Macpherson
A former Kennedy Scholar, Fiona is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Glasgow.

Dr Martin Weale CBE
Member of the Monetary Policy Committee and former Director of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research

The Ambassador of the United States of America
(Representing the President of the USA).

Professor Anthony Saich (Representing Harvard)
Director of the Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Daewoo Professor of International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School.

Professor Andrew Whittle
A former Kennedy Scholar, Andrew Whittle is the Edmund K Turner Professor and Head of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at MIT.


The Lord Mayor of London.

The Governor of the Bank of England.


Annie Thomas
The Kennedy Trust Office and the Scholarship programme are administered by the Secretary, Annie Thomas. If you phone the Trust office for help or information, she will be the person you speak to.